Back on Track aka Life is Good

We found a dinghy and engine! Hooray. Life is all good again. We were hoping to find something used but had to go new because nothing was the right size, horsepower or appeared to have the ability to float. Thank goodness for credit cards. (Summer job hunting has commenced with a vengeance.) We’re now happily anchored in La Cruz, a few miles from Puerto Vallarta, enjoying being in ONE place for awhile. We’ve spent the last week or two getting to know La Cruz and its wonderful array of taco stands (La Silla Roja and Tacos on the Street are vying for first place) and spending time with the crews of Jean Marie, SOMF, Lungta and others. We even took our first day trip away from the boat for awhile, over to Sayulita. The first time I left the country was to go to Sayulita with my mom in 10th grade. What a trip to see it again so many years later! I still wear the silver ring I bought there my first time so clearly it had an impact on me. I appreciated the fact that the overall energy of the place seemed the same, even if there were many more tourists than I remembered. And I loved all the colors! If I could paint a town, I would paint it just like Sayulita.

Goofing around in Sayulita with Milli, James, and Lauren. (Baby Colin not pictured.)

Our first visitors just arrived yesterday, Katie and Karyn, and they brought us a big dose of Port Townsend in the form of Pane d’Amore Seedy Bread, Sunrise Coffee ‘Blue Moose Blend’, magazines in English (YES! Magazine for me, Maxim and Snowboarder for Rob), Red Dog Farm carrots, licorice, our mail, and news from home. What a special treat! We relaxed on the boat today but are ready to leap into action tomorrow; we’ve got trips planned to Guadalajara, Punta Mita and Yelapa in the upcoming week.
Loving our friends from home and our new outboard and dinghy!More later! Off to get some flan.

P.S. My first published article! Check out ‘Lectronic Latitude, the online version of the magazine Latitude 38 to see it. Yay! Watch out world, I’m a published author now.

8 thoughts on “Back on Track aka Life is Good

    • Howdy Janeen! April we will be in the north part of sea of cortez somewhere. Or already hauled out getting ready to cross the border back into estados uneedtoes. We’ll start our trip north from here, near PV, in mid-March.

  1. Jealous!! You have licorice and visitors. What great friends you have. We will be in PV this week for 2 days to get what we need. Looks like you will be busy so we will look for you next month sometime, as the boat is slowly getting put back together!! Have a great time with friends from home.

  2. Howdy! Had my little week in Pt. Moreles, way across from where yous guys are. I felt cradled by the sultry air and sea breeze and birds. Didn’t want to go home. But I’m back in the US, and we have rather Mexican weather happening here in WA State. Fran and John OK–a little trip to the ER for John last week that took some wheedling by phone from Mexico. He’s a little worse for the wear, but they’re still both managing. Love you. Wish I were there with you!
    Sarah

    • Thanks Capt Ron and Lady Di and thanks for the ride to the bus station with all our Stuff! It was great getting to know you this week and fun to have dinner our last night. Good luck closing up the boat and have a great summer! See you in the yard in Nov.

Leave a comment